Winter Criterium

The MCC Winter Criterium was held at Casey Fields on 28th June 2017. We had a good turnout and in addition to the normal crit racing, we also ran the first of the Elimination Races.

There were the typical 3 grades of racing and also the juniors got a chance to race a few laps and experience being on the track during race conditions.

You can catch all the highlights and action by watching this video:

Congratulations to the the following winners:

C Grade Criterium

Place Name
1 Dougie Haugh
2 Steve van Ruyven
3 Nathan Mann

B Grade Criterium

Place Name
1 Jamie Cartwright
2 Declan Doyle
3 Grant Sheppard

A Grade Criterium

Place Name
1 Bruce Trew
2 Kyle Thompson
3 Dean Phillips

And if you’re interested in some rider stats, here’s what Strava has to say about who had the fastest lap time:

Elimination Races

The criterium was immediately followed by the Elimination Races. Each grade rode a lap (of the smaller circuit) and the last rider across the line at each lap was eliminated until there was only one rider left – the winner. This proved to be an exciting format which is sure to be repeated at future events. Winners of the elimination races were:

Grade Name
A Kyle Thompson
B Rhys Buzza
C Dougie Haugh

And again, Strava has the following stats available for the elimination races (short lap times):